Navigation for Press Releases & Statements

Staff Awards 2016


The winners of our annual Staff Awards were announced on 16th June at a ceremony held at Hatherley Manor Hotel. Teams and individual members of staff were presented with excellence awards after being nominated by colleagues and patients for their contributions to our services.

Shortlisted candidates for each category attended, with winners announced on the night. Now in its ninth year, the Staff Awards aims to thank staff for their hard work, their innovation and for the outstanding care they provide for patients in the county.

The very popular Patient’s Choice award took place for the fifth time this year and was jointly awarded to the seven shortlisted candidates. This award is open to nominations from patients all year round at

In addition, other members of staff were presented with Long Service Awards recognising their commitment to the NHS over 25 years.

We were fortunate again to have attracted sponsors for the awards. Their involvement allows us to create links with local businesses and gives them the opportunity to attend the evening and hear at first hand some of the wonderful things our staff have done over the year. This year our sponsors were Alpha Colour Printers, Age UK & Burdett Trust, West of England Academic Health Science Network (WEAHSN) and Colour Connection printers. Thanks to all of them for their continued support of our Trust.

Chief Executive Deborah Lee said: “Every single day our staff do quite incredible things that profoundly impact on people’s lives. What motivates staff working in our hospitals is the ability to make that difference. The annual staff awards is our way of recognising and thanking those dedicated, hard-working individuals who go above and beyond their jobs to provide our patients with extraordinary care, everyday.”



The winners and shortlisted candidates


Healthcare professional of the year

Winner: Nikki Dobson, Midwife

Shortlisted: Emma Mitchell, Clinical Nurse Specialist and Gail Cole, Renal team


Healthcare team of the Year

Winner: Home Enteral Feeding Team

Shortlisted: Emergency Department Consultants and Ward 7B Renal team 

Support services ambassador

Winner: Duane Brundrett, Porter Emergency Department GRH

Shortlisted: Debbie Harris, Paediatrics and Karley Brady, IT

Exceptional Contribution to Safety and Quality 

Winner: John Glass, Recovery

Shortlisted: Clemency Nye & the Acute Kidney Injury Team and Michelle Poole, Midwifery

Health Ambassador of the Year  

Winner: Leslie Morrison and Staff Support team

Shortlisted: Debbie Dean, Paediatrics and Kate Mennie

The Katherine Felix award for development in nursing

Winner: Deborah Elliot, Department of Critical Care

Shortlisted: Jeanette Welsh & Graham Rowe, Emergency Department and Kate Hurley & Leanne Fare (Organ Donation)

Sustainability ambassador

Winner: Duncan Stevenson, Communications

Shortlisted: Catering Team GRH and Jacqui Beach

Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Richard Baggs, Assessment & Rehabilitation GRH

Shortlisted: Roger Glassonbury, Pain management, Beacon House and Jane Williams, CGH

Listening and Learning Project Award (sponsored by Burdett Trust/ Age UK)

Winner: Jan Wood

Shortlisted: Graham Ledger and Heather Wagstaff

Outstanding Clinical leader of the year

Winner: Gill Donovan, Therapies

Shortlisted: Hazel Williams, Birth Centre CGH and Helen Brooke, Ward 6B

Outstanding Non-Clinical leader of the year

Winner: Mandy Newbould, Corporate HR systems

Shortlisted: Jane Evans, Estates & Facilities Division and Allison Newport, Diabetic Eye Screening

The Learning & Development award

Winner: Farouk Mehta, Training Systems Team

Shortlisted: Rose Stokes, Emergency Theatres and Resuscitation Team, both sites

Learner of the Year

Winner: Anthony Wager

Shortlisted: Megan Midwinter and Janelle Reyes-Goddard

Apprentice of the Year 

Winner: Sam Brown, Education, Learning & Development

Shortlisted: Gemma Hibberd, West Block Outpatients and Jordan Nugent, IT

Lifetime achievement award

Winner: Caroline Pennels, Head of Legal Services

Patient’s Choice Award: Winners

Carolyn Cummings

Critical Care Team GRH

Steve Twigg

Jane Soule

Lisa Daniels

Palliative Care team

Philip Rolland

The Innovation Award

Winner: Cheryl Haswell and the Catheter Passport team

Heroes: Winners

Dee Hargreaves

Dr Helen Cole

Ann Holliday