Winners announced at 2015 Staff Awards


Our Staff Awards, held in November each year are always a cause for celebration and a chance to pause and celebrate the many extraordinary and dedicated members of staff at our hospitals.

The core excellence awards are nominated by staff for staff and recognise excellence in areas including nursing practice and clinical leadership as well as highlighting apprentices and volunteers. From more than 280 nominations, three to four candidates were shortlisted in each category before the winners were announced on the night.

Watch a short film about the evening.

Also presented in November is the Patient’s Choice award which is open for nominations from April to August and is now in its fourth year. This award aims to recognise individuals or groups whose commitment and dedication ensures that exceptional care is delivered to our patients. The nominations are always fascinating and moving to read and range from praise for a single act of great kindness to a life changing operation or healthcare relationship built over many years.

We’re very lucky to have some great sponsors who help to support our Awards each year – Alpha Colour Printers, Rickard Interiors, King’s Builders, Safe at Home and The West of England Academic Health Science Network. They help to make the awards event one for staff to remember.

Chief Executive Dr Frank Harsent said:

 “We know as an organisation that it’s the people – our staff - who really make the difference to the care we deliver.

 “In many senses all those nominated are winners, but each of the shortlisted candidates particularly stands out and we are very proud of them all.

“Reading every nomination for our awards gives us a reminder of how the core principles of the NHS constitution are upheld each day by our staff.”


Staff awards 2015 – Winners and runners up

Healthcare Professional           Winner:   Anita Ashton

Highly Commended:        Tiffany Cairns and Dr Ian Shaw

Health Team                             Winner: Palliative Care (both sites)

Highly Commended:         Infection Control, Ophthalmology Doctors

Support Services Ambassador Winner: Ebrahim Moolla

Highly Commended:       Dean Hughes,  Roisin Putland, Bereavement Team

Health Ambassador                  Winner:   Chris Moule 

Highly Commended: Specialist Weight Management Team  and Carol McIndoe

Quality and Patient Care           Winner:   Alison Peett

Highly Commended:      Paediatric Continence Team, Leslie McLeod, Helen Hipwood

Exceptional Contribution to Safety       Winner:    Tiffany Cairns

Highly Commended: Procurement (Lee Robertson and Steve Hancock)  Laura Macleod and Jane Benfield

Katherine Felix Award          Winner: Gastroenterology  Ward Sisters

Highly Commended:   Julie Bruce-Watt and Sandra Attwood

Clinical Leader of the Year       Winner:  Jane Benfield

Highly Commended:   Siobhan Oldham and Sandra Attwood

Non Clinical Leader                  Winner:  Lucy Blandford

Highly Commended:        Amy Jefferies and Leon Gardner

Learning & Development         Winner: Nick Oxlade

Highly Commended:       Victoria Stacey (ED)

Apprentice of the Year             Winner:  Alice Ward

Highly Commended:      Sarah Jane Hooper, Maddi Thurston, Josh Mitchell

The Innovation Award              Winner: The Biophotonics Research Unit

Volunteer of the Year               Winner:    June Keen

Highly Commended: Margaret Holland, Dave Oakey, Roger Dobson                                          

Heroes                                     Mary Lee (HCS Practitioner), Chevonne Smith (Little Apples)

Patient’s Choice Award    Winner – individual – Moira Montague

                                                Winner – team – Play Specialists and HCAs from Children’s Centre

Highly commended: Michele Lucarotti, Rathnam Sundaram, Julia Lane, Stroud Maternity, Woodmancote Ward

Lifetime Achievement Award  Professor Peter Scanlon