Essence Of care

These 12 standards apply to all care teams. They are inspected by Law under the 'Care Standards Act'. The Trust is Inspected by the (CQC) 'Care Quality Commission' to see how staff deliver these standards.

  • Personal and Oral Hygiene
  • Self Care
  • Pressure Ulcer Prevention
  • Continence Bladder and Bowel Care
  • Safety
  • Care Environment
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Communication
  • Record Keeping
  • Food and Drink
  • Dignity and Respect
  • Pain

Essence of care is Important because:

  • They prevent harm
  • They prevent poor practice
  • They safegaurd our patients
  • They help to ensure patient safety
  • They are part of the NHS constitution (patient rights)